top of page


  • Population: 4,159,000 inhabitants

  • Area: 75,420 km2

  • Official Language: Spanish

  • Currency: Balboa / US Dollar

  • Capital: Panama City

  • Climate: Tropical climate with an average temperature of 29°C / 84 °F

Panama was visited for the first time in the early sixteenth century by the Spanish conquistadors led by Christopher Columbus. In 1513 Vasco Nunez de Balboa discovered for the first time the Pacific coast and founded Panama City. Due to its geographical position, the Isthmus of Panama was used by the Spaniards to transport gold mainly from Peru to Spain. This activity attracted many pirates, the most famous Henry Morgan who set fire to the city in 1671. By the year 1914 the famous Panama Canal was built. The Panama Canal is considered as one of the greatest engineering works of all time, which is used daily by large ships that cross from one ocean to the other.

Nowadays, Panama City is a modern city with some of the largest shopping centers in Latin America, accommodation for all budgets, varied cuisine and a great nightlife in bars and nightclubs. Very close to the city there are paradisiacal beaches both in the Caribbean Sea and in the Pacific Ocean, natural parks where you can appreciate wild life and you can perform many ecotourism activities.

Monkey Adventures will make your stay an unforgettable experience with our different tours we offer every day.


Visa is not required to enter Panama for most countries, so you only need to present your passport valid for 3 months.

The following are some countries whose citizens have Visa exemption:

  • European Union

  • Angola

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Argentina

  • Australia

  • Bahamas

  • Barbados

  • Belize

  • Bolivia

  • Brazil

  • Canada

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Costa Rica

  • Ecuador

  • El Salvador

  • Guatemala

  • Honduras

  • Israel

  • Jamaica

  • Japan

  • Malaysia

  • Mexico

  • New Zealand

  • Nicaragua

  • Norway

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Russia

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Serbia

  • Singapore

  • South Africa

  • South Korea

  • Switzerland

  • Taiwan

  • Thailand

  • Trinidad and Tobago

  • Turkey

  • Ukraine

  • Uruguay

  • United States of America

  • United Arab Emirates

  • Vietnam

Additionally, if any of the nationalities that normally require Visa to enter Panama have a multiple entry visa issued with at least 6 months for Australia, Canada, European Union, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, United Kingdom or United States they will be also exempt of Visa.

For more information, contact the nearest embassy of Panama to your country.

bottom of page